Training material in courses can be completed by learners in various ways, depending on the type of material. This article details the event that triggers a training material to be marked as complete within the platform. Learn more about resetting the tracking and completion of training materials for learners.
When Training Materials are Marked as Complete
For this file type, the settings for completion are located within the package. In order for users to properly let the platform know that they are done playing a SCORM training material, it’s important that they press the Close button (may be called the Exit or Submit button) in the training material so the package is recorded accurately. By not pressing this button when a learner finishes viewing the content, the progress may not be sent from the SCORM package to the platform, therefore please communicate to learners that it’s important to press this button before closing the window or tab.
Video training materials are marked as completed for learners using the following criteria:
- When the video reaches 15 seconds before the end marker if the video is longer than 150 seconds.
- When the video reaches 90% of completion from the start marker if the video is shorter than 150 seconds.
This training material is marked as complete once the file is actually downloaded from the platform.
The completion of this training material is triggered based on the settings selected for the LTI. When creating the course, the Superadmin will mark the Completion section as either when the user opens the training material OR after receiving feedback from an external tool. Please make sure this tool or the selected content can send feedback, otherwise, this training material can never be marked as completed. Additionally, Superadmins are able to set a minimum score to pass which will not mark the course as complete until the above score is reached. Please note that the scale for this is 0-100, while the LTI scale uses 0-1.1.0.
The completion of xAPI training materials depends on whether you want to track all activities in the package. If yes (this is the default setting), the platform will track ALL of the activities, including activities and sub-activities. In this way, when completing the first module of the Tin Can training material (considering that a Tin Can object is composed of multiple modules), the entire Tin Can is marked as completed. If you do not want to track all activities, only the main activities of the package will be tracked, and all modules have to be completed in order for the Tin Can to be marked as completed.
This training material is marked as complete based on the settings selected when importing the checklist as training material into the course. If you select the Upon Conclusion option, the checklist training material is marked as complete when the checklist reaches the Completed status (the observer has finished responding to the items in the checklist and pressed the Send Checklist button). Remember that, if the checklist requires the approval step, it will be considered Completed only after the approval has been done. If you choose the Upon Sending option, the checklist training material is marked as complete when the checklist is sent to the observer to be filled out.
This training material will be marked as complete when the last slide of the slideshow is viewed.
HTML pages are marked as complete when the user opens the page.
Surveys are marked as complete when the user clicks the Submit button.
Tests are marked as complete when the user presses the Submit (Test Completed) button.
This type of training material is available if your platform integrates with Google Drive, and it is marked as completed when the Google Drive file is loaded.
Assignments are manually marked as completed by the instructor upon evaluating them. More details on training material settings and prerequisites, and on the navigation policy, that allows you to establish the completion order for training material within a course.
Status Icons for Training Material
When learners are viewing training material in a course, they will see various different symbols that represent the training material status for that specific learner:
- A padlock. Indicates that you must complete another training material in order to start this one.
- A grey checkmark. Indicates that you have not started this training material yet.
- A yellow checkmark. Indicates that you have started but not completed this training material.
- A green checkmark. Indicates that you have completed this training material.
Notes about Completing Training Material
Your platform records the status of a learner for every learning asset in the platform, including asset access, time spent in the training material, rating, etc. The status of these items is saved and preserved when they log out of the platform or access the same material from a different course or channel. If a training material was originally added in the Central Repository and that same training material is used in multiple courses (as opposed to creating a new training material every time), then the learner status of that particular training material will be recorded in every course where the training material is placed. Thus, if they complete the training material in the first course, it will also be marked as complete in the second course and therefore the user will not be required to re-complete the training material.
The same concept applies to the courses. If a user has been enrolled into a course and the same course is in a learning plan in which the user was enrolled, or it is available in a catalog to which the user has visibility, then the course will be marked as complete in each instance, regardless of the means of accessibility (stand-alone course, learning plan, catalog, etc.).
Impact of Training Material or Course Modifications
If the training material or course has a status of In Progress or Not Started and any training material in the course is modified in any way, the user will have to start that particular training material over from the beginning. However, if the training material has already been completed when the modification takes place, then the user maintains their Completed status, regardless of the changes made to the training material. Because courses are made up of training material, the impact of modifications of a course is at the training material level.
A course is marked as Completed when all of the training materials composing it are marked as completed. However, you can manually mark the course as complete at user level by editing the user enrollment status in the course. From the Course Management area, select the course, then move to the Enrollment tab, and change the user enrollment status to Completed. If the learner did not complete one or more training materials in the course before you set the enrollment status to Completed, the uncompleted training materials will still be marked as incomplete.