Introduction
Once you add training material to a course, you can manage its settings and prerequisites from the course’s Training material tab.
You must be enrolled in the course as an instructor, or access the platform as a Superadmin to manage the training material of the course.
To manage the training material of a course:
- From the main menu, open Content and delivery.
- Select Courses.
- Select the course.
- Open the Training material tab.
- Select the menu icon in the training material row.
- Select Settings.
Notes:
- The available settings depend on the training material type. Some settings are not available for every type of training material.
- You cannot hide or change the view mode of expired Content Marketplace training material.
Hidden material
In the Hidden section, select the option to hide the training material from learners enrolled in the course.
Hide material instead of deleting it when you need to preserve learner tracking. Hidden material is not counted toward course completion for learners who have not completed it. It continues to count for learners who completed it before you hid it.
Publish (publishing time)
In the Publish section, set the dates when the training material is available to learners if the training material is only relevant to your training plan for a certain period. Dates and times use Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
- In From, select the publication start date.
- In To, select the publication end date.
- Save your changes.
After the end date, the training material is hidden from the course.
Number of views
In the Number of views section, choose whether learners can access the training material:
- For an unlimited number of times.
- Until they complete or pass it.
- Only once.
If you allow only one view, explain this to learners before they start. Learners cannot reopen the material after they leave it, even if they fail an exam or the course. To allow a learner to access it again, reset the training material tracking.
Align the number of views with the maximum number of attempts configured in the course properties under Navigation.
End object marker
An end object marker identifies the last mandatory training material in a course. When a learner completes it, the course is marked as completed, which will be reflected as such in the status and reports. This applies even if the course includes optional material that the learner has not completed.
For an Instructor-Led Training (ILT) course, the session is marked as completed when the learner completes the end object marker, regardless of the selected session completion option.
This setting is not retroactive.
Tip: You can set more than one end object marker. For example, you can add two tests as end object markers to create a test-out process. If the learner passes the first test, the course is completed. If the learner fails it, the learner can complete additional material and take the second test.
Autoplay
For multi-chapter SCORM material, enable autoplay to open the next chapter automatically after the learner completes the current chapter..
Dimensions
For video and file training material, enter the width and height in pixels in the Dimensions section.
Please note: Dimensions apply only when the training material uses Inline view mode.
View mode
For some training materials, you can choose the view mode to control how learners access the content. Select one of the following options:
-
Inline: Opens the training material inside the player. This option is suggested for content that requires the context of the page or the learner's interaction.
- This view mode is available on desktop only.
-
Theater mode (Lightbox): Opens the training material in a window at the front or center of the page and dims the rest of the page while the content is playing.
- This play mode is not recommended for Flash packages and is available on desktop only.
-
Stand-alone mode: Displays only the training material on the course page, helping limit distractions and allowing learners to quickly switch to other content.
- This option cannot be selected for Creator lessons.
- This view mode is available on desktops, tablets, and mobile.
- When using this view mode for AICC, LTI, and Elucidat training material, you are responsible for ensuring that the content sends tracking data to the platform at intervals shorter than five minutes. Otherwise, the platform will not be able to save the tracking data for the training material.
-
New window: Opens the material in a new window or new tab in your browser (depending on your browser settings).
- This play mode is available on desktops and tablets.
Notes on view modes
- If you have enabled the possibility to share the course and the training material link, when the training material is either played in stand-alone or in theater modes, the Get shareable link option is not visible, since the content overlaps the whole page.
- You can change the view mode of xAPI training materials from both the Settings page and the Edit menu. However, only changes saved on the Settings page are applied; changes made in the Edit menu are ignored.
- Starting with version 92 of Chrome (opens in a new tab), released on July 20, 2021, the browser prevents iframes from triggering prompts (opens in a new tab) (window.alert, window.confirm, window.prompt) if an iframe comes from a different origin than the top-level page.
This can cause malfunctions in the execution of some training materials if they make use of the commands mentioned above and are played in Theater Mode or Inline view mode. If you experience malfunctions in your training materials, you can restore the correct functioning in two ways:- In the training material Settings panel, change the View Mode option to Stand-Alone or New Window
- Using the temporary enterprise policy SuppressDifferentOriginSubframeDialogs (opens in a new tab) to revert to the behavior before Chrome 92 (this will be possible until Chrome 95 release)
Prerequisites (e-learning courses only)
Prerequisites are available for e-learning courses only. They require learners to complete or view selected training material before they can access another item. For example, a learner might need to read a policy document or complete an introductory video before they can begin a related assessment or advanced topic.
- Open the course’s Training material tab.
- Select the menu icon next to the training material you want to configure.
- Select Prerequisites.
- Select the training materials that learners must complete or view first.
- Select Save changes.
A padlock icon identifies training material with prerequisites.
Best practices
- Place training material after its prerequisites in the course order.
- When you set an end object marker, set all mandatory training material as its prerequisites.
- For courses available in multiple languages, do not set training material in different language folders as prerequisites. Learners can access only the language selected in their profile.