Docebo allows you to adjust time options for courses, such as the start and end dates. By managing the time options for a course, you have control over when learners can start a course and how much time they have to complete it, depending on your settings.
Begin by accessing the Admin Menu from the gear icon in the top right corner of your platform. Then, find the Course Management option in the E-Learning section. On the main Course Management page, find the course in the list of courses, click on its description to access the course area, and move to the Advanced Properties tab.
Configuring Time Options for E-Learning Courses
After accessing the Time Options tab for an E-learning course, you can configure the following options:
- Start Date. Set the first available date for users to start playing the course and accessing training material. Please note that the start date is expressed in UTC time, meaning that the course will be accessible at 00:00:00 UTC of the selected date. If, for example, your timezone is UTC +04:00, the course will be accessible at 04:00:00 of the selected date.
- End Date. Set the last date available for users to access and play the course. After this date, the course and its training material will no longer be accessible to users. Please note that the end date is expressed in UTC time, meaning that the course will be locked at 23:59:59 UTC of the selected date. If, for example, your timezone is UTC +04:00, the course will be locked at 03:59:59 of the following day.
By assigning an expiration date to the course, an icon will be displayed on the course tile reflecting to enrolled users the amount of time they have left to complete the course. The same icon will be displayed also in case of enrollment deadlines. In the eventuality that a course has an expiration date and enrollment deadlines are also set for users, the icon will refer to the remaining time related to enrollment deadlines. Ex: If you create a course with an expiration date set in one month and a user with enrollment deadline in 3 months, the icon will display that the course will expire in 3 months.
- Soft Deadline. When a soft deadline is enabled, the course and its training material can be accessed by users even after the end date has passed.
- Days of Validity. Use this option to activate a validity period for users to attend the course, and set whether days will be counted starting from the day the user enrolls in the course (including the days spent in the course waiting list) or starting from the day the user accesses the course for the first time. If you change these settings after some users have already enrolled or accessed the course, the new calculation will not be applied to them, and will only affect users enrolling or accessing the course after your change. Still, you can force the new settings to be applied to all users by enabling the Update the expiration date for any users that have already started the course option. When this option is enabled, users will see the number of remaining days to access the course in the Enrollment section of the course.
- Average Time for Course. Use this option to set how much time users should take to complete the course. This value is displayed in the course Details page if the course is in a catalog. By setting the average time for completion, Admins and Instructors can run reports to compare the actual completion times against the estimated completion times for the course.
Configuring Time Options for ILT Courses
Time options for ILT courses only include the possibility to set the course days of validity.