In your platform, you may have a lot of learning content, thus the time it takes to organize, view and update all of it may seem daunting. It can be useful to enable learners to curate content in the platform, by hiding the content in which they are not interested in any given moment, and marking content as outdated if it is no longer up-to-date or valid.It may also be useful to manage the content of tags associated with formal and informal learning content in order to avoid words that you consider inappropriate or irrelevant for your learners and content. Using the deny list of tags functionality, you as the Superadmin can add a deny list of words that you don’t want to appear in tags. As a result, any tags containing the words of the deny list in them will be deleted from any training material, assets, and questions.Let’s go through the content curation functionalities available in your platform.
Managing the Hide/Unhide Functionality
The Hide/Unhide functionality enables your users to free their pages from unwanted content and to view only the content that is most valuable to them. In this way, they can easily customize the platform by removing the content they don’t want to see and controlling what appears on certain pages.Your platform’s Artificial Intelligence will analyze data about which type of content is hidden with the long-term goal of understanding which content is and is not interesting to users. This functionality gives the user the possibility to hide content from All Channels, My Channel, and My Courses and Learning Plans pages, although content can’t be hidden from catalogs. Both formal and informal training content can be hidden. Depending on how you as the Superadmin configured the platform, users may not be able to hide formal content such as courses and learning plans, whereas the hide functionality is always enabled for informal training content such as assets and playlists.In order to configure the Hide/Unhide functionality, access the Admin Menu from the gear icon in the top right corner of your platform. Then, select the Advanced Settings option in the Settings section. Choose the E-Learning tab on the left side of the page and then scroll down to the Courses & Learning Plans Content Curation section.Here, you can select the first flag, allowing learners to hide courses and/or learning plans. Users can always hide formal content they completed or into which they self-enrolled, whereas this functionality isn’t active for widgets having the Show Filters Selector toggle off (and thus filters are not shown). By switching this feature off (unselecting the first flag), the learning content hidden by the learner will be visible.If you select both the first and the second flag, users can also hide courses and/or learning plans into which they have been enrolled by a Superadmin or Power User. If you don’t select the second flag, users cannot hide formal content into which they have been enrolled by a Superadmin or Power User.Please note: The first flag always allows users to hide every completed course and/or learning plan (even if users have been enrolled by a Superadmin or Power User).Refer to this article for more information about how users can hide/unhide learning content.
Managing the Mark as Outdated Functionality
The Mark as Outdated functionality helps your learners keep their My Channel pages always up-to-date, as the assets that they uploaded to the platform can be marked as outdated by other users. By doing so, the quality of content published in the platform will improve and the overall content curation in your platform will be enhanced. Your platform’s Artificial Intelligence will analyze which content is marked as outdated, so that in the future, it can automatically let you know which content is outdated without users needing to flag it for you.This feature gives users the possibility to mark content as outdated if they consider it old and no longer valuable to their learning experience. They can mark both formal learning content such as courses and informal learning content such as assets as outdated in the All Channels and My Courses and Learning Plans pages. This feature is active by default in the platform, so you as the Superadmin cannot deactivate it and you don’t need to configure any settings.You can recognize the assets which are marked as outdated from the flag icon on the asset's card. Hover your mouse over this icon to check how many users marked it as outdated. In order to check the number of users marking a course as outdated, activate the Outdated column in the course management table to include it in the table view. To do so, click on the Columns Management icon on top of the table and select the Outdated option in the list (remember that you can select up to 9 columns to display at once). Refer to this article for more information about how learners can mark content as outdated in their platforms. When learners mark content as outdated, you will receive a notification. Refer to the Notificationsfor Your Outdated Content section in this article for further information about notifications.
Notifications for Your Outdated Content
When content is marked as outdated by a user, you will receive a notification listing the number and the names of courses that have been marked as outdated (if more than one course has been marked as outdated).As the Superadmin, you can set the frequency of this notification (hourly, daily, weekly, or monthly). The default frequency is weekly. Make sure that the Notifications feature is active in your platform, and that you have correctly created and configured the Digest: courses marked as outdated and Digest: assets marked as outdated notifications. Refer to this article for more information on creating and managing notifications.To view these notifications, select the bell icon in the status bar at the top of your platform. Select the Go to Course Management (for courses) or the Go to My Channel (for assets) button at the bottom of the notification.From the Outdated column of the course table in the Course Management page, you can see how many users marked that course as outdated. In this way, you’ll be able to easily recognize and then update or delete that content, thus keeping your platform always up-to-date. For further information about Course Management, refer to the articles in this section.
Managing the Deny List of Tags in Auto-tagging Functionality
Using the deny list for tags functionality, you can add a deny list of words that you don’t want to appear in tags associated with both formal content (courses) and informal content (assets and questions). In order to configure the deny list, begin by accessing the Admin Menu from the gear icon in the top right corner of your platform. Then, select the Advanced Settings option in the Settings section. Here, find the Tags on the Deny List tab on the left side of the page, where you can insert the tags you want to add to the deny list. In order to add a tag, type the word you want to be added to the list, then press Enter on your keyboard.You can also modify the list and delete any entries you previously added. The list is saved when you press the Save button. Upon pressing Save, your platform will delete the tags included in the list from all training material, assets, and questions.Please note that the deny list only works on tags auto-generated by Artificial Intelligence. AI already excludes by default any tags with words that are considered inappropriate (using the built-in profanity filter), then it excludes the tags included in the deny list.While the profanity filter is a single list of words not allowed (offensive words, swear words, etc.) in all platforms, with the deny list you can define a specific list of words for your own platform, including words that you consider to be inappropriate for different reasons, such as competitors’ names and brands. Thus, words on the deny list are not necessarily offensive.