Every widget has its own settings and purpose, and you can find out more about them in the dedicated article of the Knowledge Base. This article outlines the common aspects of widgets, such as their management and their filtering options.
You can manage the widgets displayed in your dashboards or in reports by clicking on the ellipsis menu in the top right corner of the widget and taking advantage of the following options:
Downloading a Widget
Widgets can be downloaded to your device by selecting the Download as option.
Choose now the download format:
- PDF: download a PDF version of the widget. PDF files usually include a chart (if the widget includes one) and raw data displayed in a table.
- PNG:download an image version of the widget.
- XLS: download the raw data of the widget in an Excel spreadsheet with an image version of the chart.
- CSV: download the raw data of the widget in a CSV file
Sending a Widget
You can send a widget to a platform member or an external user by selecting the Send option.
In the pop-up box that opens, enter the email address of the person you wish to send the widget to. If you want to send the widget to more than one person, enter multiple email addresses separated by a comma. Choose the format of the file that will be sent to your selected recipients (PDF, XLS or CSV) and click on Send to complete the action.
Renaming a Widget (for Dashboards Only)
Every widget has a default name, use this option to change it. Select the Rename option and enter the new name, then click Update to confirm your changes.
This option is available only for the widgets of customized dashboards.
Duplicating a Widget (for Dashboards Only)
If you wish to duplicate a widget, select the Duplicate option from the top right of the widget. Your duplicated widget will be directly displayed in the dashboard and a message will inform you that the widget was successfully duplicated.
This option is only available for the widgets of customized dashboards.
Deleting a Widget (for Dashboards Only)
Select the Delete Widget option to remove a widget from a dashboard.
When a widget is deleted, it will be discarded from the dashboard but it will still be available for you to use in other dashboards or to eventually be added back from where it was deleted. This option is available only for the widgets of customized dashboards.
Sharing a Widget (for Reports Only)
You can share any widget available on reports with other members of the Learning Analytics platform by selecting the Share option.
In the pop-up box that opens, on the Members tab, type the first three characters of the name or of the email address of the member you want to share the widget with. Make your selection from the search results by clicking Add and click on Confirm to finalize your action. Use the Remove option to remove members from the sharing list.
Alternatively, you can share the widget via a public share link. A public share link allows external users to view the data included in the widget without giving them access to the platform. When you share a widget via a public link, the link will be valid for 24 hours. When a widget link expires, you’ll have to generate a new one.
When you share a widget with another member, the member will be able to see only the data for which he/she has been given visibility permissions. For this reason, shared widgets can be empty if the member has no visibility permission over the shared data. On the other hand, when you share a widget via a public link, the person you share the widget with will see the widget the same way you see it and visibility permissions will not apply. Also, note that widgets shared via public links are dynamic and will be updated for the recipient when you refresh the data.
When another user shares a widget with you, this widget is displayed on the Shared with me page.
This option is available only for the widgets of reports.
Saving a Widget as Favorite (for Reports Only)
The widgets of reports can be saved as Favorites by pressing the heart icon in the top right corner of the widget. When a widget is identified as a favorite, it is displayed on the Favorites page. To remove a widget from the Favorites page, either click on the ellipsis menu in the top right corner of the widget (while on the Favorites page) and select Remove Widget or click the heart icon, unselecting it.
The widgets marked as favorites are displayed on the Favorites page in chronological order. The widget that you first marked as a favorite is on the top left part of the page and the widget that you last marked as favorite is on the bottom right part of the page. You can adjust the sorting of the widgets at any time by dragging and dropping widgets and rearranging them to fit your needs.
This option is available only for the widgets of reports.
You can filter all of the data displayed in the widgets of reports and dashboards at once. To do so, click on the Add Filters button in the top left corner of the page and select one of the available options: Branches, Groups, User Additional Fields, Courses, Categories, Catalogs, or Learning Plan. You can also apply the Time Frame or the User Status filters to the results by using the time corresponding dropdowns next to the Add Filters button.
Once you select filters, they will apply to all the widgets included on the page.
Here follows a description of the available filters:
By default, data is displayed for the last 12 months (if available) but you can select a different period from the list so that the selected time range will automatically apply to all the widgets on the page.
When you select the last X months in the time frame filter, the time range that will apply will go from the same day in the corresponding month to today regardless of the number of days in the months. For example, if you choose the Last 2 Months option as a time frame filter on April 5, the time range will go from February 5 to April 5. You can also choose a custom time range. To do so, choose Custom in the drop-down menu. Click on the first day of your time range and then click on the last day of your time range. Click Apply to complete the process.
Use this filter to filter data according to the status of members in Learning Analytics. Learn more on members and on their status.
Select a branch or look for it by typing its name in the textbox. Once you find the desired branch, click once on the checkbox next to its name to select it, or click twice on the checkbox to select the branch and all of its sub-branches.
Select all the branches you wish to include in your filter and then press Apply Filters to complete the process.
Select groups by checking the checkbox next to their names. Search for a specific group by typing the group’s name in the text box.
When you have selected all the desired groups, press Apply filters to complete the process.
User Additional Fields
To apply the User Additional Field filter, select Additional Fields (Users) from the Add Filters drop-down menu and choose the user additional field you want to apply. Then, from the panel that opens, select all the values for the selected user additional field that will apply in the filter by selecting the checkboxes. Search for a specific value by typing its name in the text box. When you have selected all the desired values, press Apply filters to complete the process.
When selecting User Additional Fields, you will find all the user additional fields available in the Docebo Learn except for the Date, Iframe, Upload File types.
Select courses by checking the checkbox next to their title. Search for a specific course by typing its title in the text box.
When you have selected all the desired courses, press Apply filters to complete the process.
Select a category or look for it by typing its name in the textbox. Once you find the desired category, click once on the checkbox next to the category’s name to select the category or click twice on the checkbox to select the category and all of its sub-categories.
Select all the categories you wish to include in your filter and then press Apply Filters to complete the process. When selecting this filter, the relevant widgets will update with the data corresponding to the list of courses in the selected categories.
Filter data by catalog by selecting the checkboxes next to their names. Search for a specific catalog by typing its name in the text box. When you have selected all the desired catalogs, press Apply Filters to complete the process.
When selecting this filter, the relevant widgets will update with the data corresponding to the list of courses in the selected catalogs.
Select learning plans by selecting the checkboxes next to their titles. Search for a specific learning plan by typing its title in the text box.
When you have selected all of the desired learning plans, press Apply filters to complete the process.